Meltzer and Bell, PA remains committed to the people of South Florida during this very difficult time. Please know that we are open and will remain so 24 hours a day, seven days a week to those in our community who need our help.

Ignition Interlock Devices

The laws in Florida for driving under the influence (DUI) are infamous for their harsh penalties. One additional sentencing condition for repeat DUI offenders they’ve implemented to punish drunk drivers is to require them to install an ignition interlock device (IID) to their vehicle.

An ignition interlock device is a type of portable alcohol monitoring device (PAM) used to deter DUI offenders from drinking and driving. The objective of the IID is to stop the driver from using their motor vehicle if they are too impaired to drive by requiring them to submit a breath sample that turns on the engine. Failure to do so will keep the engine locked.

If you or someone you know has been arrested for DUI, then it’s important you seek experienced legal representation. A conviction could mean expensive fines, incarceration and being bound to your IID for upwards to a year or two. Don’t wait another moment to secure trusted legal counsel and call an experienced attorney today.

Fort Lauderdale Attorney for Ignition Interlock Devices in Florida

A person convicted of a repeat or aggravated DUI should expect added conditions to their sentencing such as a required ignition interlock device on their vehicle. This complex piece of equipment won’t only limit your ability to drive when you need to, but you will also be obligated to pay the complete installation and monthly costs.

Fight back by hiring representation to fight your charges with Meltzer & Bell. Our lawyers have been practicing Florida DUI law for years and can work tirelessly to reduce or dismiss your charges. Call us today at (754) 755-8554 to set up your first consultation for free. Meltzer & Bell accepts clients throughout the greater Fort Lauderdale area including Pompano Beach and Hollywood.

Overview of Ignition Interlock Devices in FL


Back to top

What Is Florida’s Ignition Interlock Device Program?

Florida laws establish that if you have been convicted of a second or aggravated DUI then you will be required to install an ignition interlock device. The intended use of installing an IID is to stop the offender from re-offending by driving drunk again.

A first-time DUI offense doesn’t require an IID installation. Although, a judge does have the power to add an ignition interlock device to your sentencing for up to six months if they deem it appropriate. It’s important to understand this is a rare occurrence, but can happen, nonetheless. Most first-time DUI offenders are only required to complete a DUI class or rehabilitation program.

A judge will court order you to install an IID if you were convicted of aggravated DUI. You can be charged with aggravated DUI if your BAC reading was .15 or higher or you had a child passenger in the vehicle during the crime. An aggravated DUI conviction will mean an IID requirement for at least 6 months. A second aggravated DUI conviction will result in an obligatory IID installation for no less than two years.

If you are a repeat DUI offender, the judge will court order you to install an IID. You won’t be able to receive a hardship or restricted license until the IID is installed. It must also be approved by the court’s and state’s standards. The following are the IID requirements for repeat DUI offenders in the state of Florida.

  • Second DUI Conviction – At least one year
  • Third DUI Conviction (outside 10 years of last offense) – At least two years
  • Third DUI Conviction (within 10 years of last offense) – No less than two years
  • Subsequent DUI Conviction – At least five years

Back to top

What is an Ignition Interlock Device or IID?

An ignition interlock device is a type of portable alcohol monitoring device (PAM) such as a portable breath test. It functions similarly to a breathalyzer with the exception it’s hardwired into your engine. The device will measure your blood-alcohol concentration and determine if you are too impaired to drive.

If you have a BAC reading of .08 or higher, then your motor vehicle’s engine will lock automatically. The event will be logged eternally and sent to the appropriate authorities. An IID will also sometimes request the driver to perform a “rolling re-test” after they’ve blown into the device to avoid having another person blow for you.

A rolling re-test is when the IID starts beeping and asking for another breath sample. You must turn in the breath sample while driving to continue to use the car. If you have a high BAC, the car will NOT turn off its engine. It will, however, flash the lights, honk the horn or do whatever disturbance possible to make it nearly impossible to drive the car.

To turn it off, you must pull over and turn off the engine. Then you must wait until your BAC is normal to turn the engine on again. These tests were created to stop DUI offenders from having their friends or family blow into their IID so they can drive.


Back to top

What’s the Cost of an Ignition Interlock Device in FL?

What you might not be thinking of is “who is going to pay for this IID.” Unfortunately, the answer is solely you. The offender is required to pay the full cost and installation of their IID as a part of their sentence. It can be very expensive and if you cannot pay for the installation may have a portion of court fines account for the cost if the judge allows it.

To install an IID, you also must follow the state and court’s standards. For an IID to be court-approved you will have to pay for it through an ignition interlock device company. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV) have a list of IID providers you can choose from that has all the requirements outlined by the National Highway Safety and Traffic Administration (NHTSA).

An IID company requires information about your case before they can give you an accurate quote on pricing. These companies sometimes will offer a payment plans to those who are financially struggling. Most IIDs typically include the following expenses:

  • Installation – $75
  • Monthly monitoring – $72.50
  • Refundable deposit – $100; or
  • Monthly insurance charge – $5

Back to top

Additional Resources


DHSMV Ignition Interlock Program
– Visit the official website for the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to view their list on IID providers. Here you can access the different IID companies that have been approved by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. The site is also available to read in Español if needed.

IID Frequently Asked Questions – Visit the official website of the DHSMV and find answers to frequently asked IID questions available in English or Español. Find more information on IID violations, the accuracy of IIDs, and what happens if your car is repaired while an IID is installed.


Back to top

Defense Lawyer for IID Programs in Broward County, FL

If you or someone you know has been charged with DUI, then it’s within your best interest to gain legal counsel. Get in contact with Meltzer & Bell for skilled and experienced representation. Our attorneys have years of practice on both the prosecutor and defense side. Let us guide you so you can avoid the statutory penalties of DUI.

Don’t wait another moment for quality counsel. Call us now at (754) 755-8554 to set up your first consultation free. Meltzer & Bell accepts clients throughout the greater Broward County area including Boca Raton, Pembroke Pines and Fort Lauderdale.


Back to top

  1. Our Firm

  2. Practices
  3. Contact