Sale of Marijuana
Marijuana laws are being reformed throughout the country. The plant is being grown and consumed for both medicinal use and recreational use. In some cities in the United States, it is legal to sell marijuana for recreational purposes with a business license. However, in most cities, including Fort Lauderdale, cannabis still is considered an illegal substance and selling it could result in harsh criminal penalties.
Florida law criminalizes selling marijuana, also known as “weed” or “pot.” The penalties for the crime depend on the amount of marijuana sold. If convicted, you could face prison time, steep fines or both. A conviction also could affect your ability to get a job in the future.
Lawyers for the Sale of Cannabis Crimes in Fort Lauderdale, FL
If you are charged with selling marijuana in Broward County, contact a Fort Lauderdale marijuana defense attorney who can help you combat the charges. The team at Meltzer & Bell is experienced in fighting drug charges, including marijuana charges.
If you face any type of charges relating to selling cannabis, whether state or federal, misdemeanor or felony, Meltzer & Bell can defend you. Attorneys at Meltzer & Bell are available 24 hours per day, seven days per week.
Meltzer & Bell represents clients throughout Broward County, including in Fort Lauderdale, Pembroke Pines, Miramar, Coral Springs, Hollywood, Pompano Beach, Plantation, Davie, Sunrise, Weston and Wilton Manors.
Call Meltzer & Bell at (954) 765-6585 to schedule a free consultation.
- Elements of Charges for Selling Marijuana
- Penalties for Selling Marijuana in Fort Lauderdale
- Finding the Best Marijuana Defense Attorney in Broward County
Marijuana is one of the most popular and most used controlled substances in Florida, including Broward County. Under Florida Statute § 893.02, cannabis is defined as all parts of any plant of the genus Cannabis.
The law addresses cannabis differently than other illegal controlled substances. Cannabis is considered a Schedule I illegal substance. Even possession of the drug is a misdemeanor. However, even possession charges can escalate in penalties.
It is unlawful for a person to sell marijuana, under Florida Statute § 893.13. Selling marijuana in Florida could be a third-degree felony. However, the charge can be increased to a second-degree felony based on where the drug was sold.
In Florida, it is illegal to sell marijuana within 1,000 feet of a child care facility, an elementary, middle or high school, a park, a community center, a publicly owned recreational center, a place of worship, a housing facility or an assisted living facility.
If the drug is sold within those areas, it could be considered a second-degree felony. Also, if marijuana is sold to a minor, the accused will face a second-degree felony.
Possession of more than 25 pounds of marijuana for the purpose of selling it can lead to trafficking charges under Florida Statutes Annotated § 893.135. Trafficking charges bring mandatory minimum sentences that depend on the amount prosecutors can prove you possessed.
Selling marijuana in Florida is a third-degree felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. If you are arrested for selling marijuana in one of the restricted areas or to a minor, the charge will be upgraded to a second-degree felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
If you are charged with trafficking for possessing between 25 and 2,000 pounds of marijuana, you could face a minimum three-year sentence and a $25,000 fine. Penalties can go up to a 15-year minimum sentence and a $200,000 fine for five tons or more.
Charges for the sale of marijuana in Florida include:
- 893.13(1)(A)2 – SALE OF MARIJUANA
- 893.13(2)(A)2 – PURCHASE OR POSSESSION WITH INTENT TO PURCHASE MARIJUANA
- 777.04(1) AND 893.13(2)(A)2 – ATTEMPTED PURCHASE OF MARIJUANA (use for sting operations only)
If you have been arrested and charged with selling marijuana in Fort Lauderdale or the surrounding areas, contact Meltzer & Bell. At Meltzer & Bell, you will have the guidance of skilled Fort Lauderdale cannabis criminal defense lawyer available to you 24 hours per day, seven days per week.
Contact an attorney at Meltzer & Bell. Call (954) 765-6585.
This article was last updated on Friday, April 27, 2018.